American Academy of Arts & Sciences

On April 13, the American Academy of Arts & Sciences announced its 2010 class of Fellows.  Forty were Guggenheim Fellows.

The Academy was established in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, and John Hancock, and other major figures of the time. Over the succeeding two centuries, its rolls grew to include George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Albert Einstein, Winston Churchill, and more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than sixty Pulitzer Prize winners. According to Leslie Berlowitz, Chief Executive Officer and William T. Golden Chair, since its founding “the Academy has served the public good by convening leading thinkers and doers from diverse perspectives to provide practical policy solutions to the pressing issues of the day.”

View a complete list of Guggenheim Fellows Elected to Membership in the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, 2010.


Convergent evolution. Submitted by Artyom Kopp, 2009, Fellow, Molecular and Cellular Biology, appointed for a study of the role of cis-regulatory sequences in the evolution of gene expression.