Alberto Carlos Riccardi

Alberto Carlos Riccardi

Fellow: Awarded 1974
Field of Study: Earth Science

Competition: Latin America & Caribbean

Universidad Nacional de La Plata; CONICET

Alberto C. Riccardi is a Researcher for the Argentine National Research Council since 1972, and is a Professor (1986- ) and Head of the Invertebrate Palaeontology Division (1976- ) at the National University of La Plata (NULP), Argentina.  Previously, he worked for the Argentina Geological Survey (1963-68). During his years at NULP, he also worked on the Geological Survey of Canada (1980-81) and in 1989 was a Visiting Professor at McMaster University in Ontario, Canada.

Dr. Riccardi has been President of both the Argentina Palaeontological (1979-81) and Geological (1991-99) societies and chief editor of the journals of both societies, and Chairman of the Advisory Committees on Earth Sciences for the Argentina National Research Council (1991-95).  He has been a member of the International Subcommission on Jurassic Stratigraphy (1977- ), member (1979- ) and Chairman (1994-2002) of the International Subcommission on Stratigraphic Classification, Vice President of the International Palaeontological Association (1991-2002), Chairman of the Organising Committee of the 4th International Congress on Jurassic Stratigraphy (1994), and Councilor of the Executive Committee of the International Union of Geological Sciences (2002-06).

He has contributed to our knowledge of the bio- and chronostratigraphy of the Jurassic of west central Argentina and of the Cretaceous of southern Patagonia, leading a team of geologists and palaeontologists working in different fields.  As a result, new information was obtained for the the Mesozoic of west central Argentina and Patagonia.  He was also worked on the the Upper Cretaceous of Canada and the Jurassic of Chile, Peru, and Mexico.  In addition, he has devoted considerable time to the study of the history of geology.

Alberto Riccardi has received numerous honors during his career: Bernardo Houssay award, from the Argentina National Research Council (1987); E. L. Holmberg award, from the Argentina National Academy of Exact, Physical and Natural Sciences (1991); National Prize in Geosciences, from the Government of Argentina (1992); and awards from the Argentina Geological Society (1996) and Argentina Palaeontological Society (1999). In addition, he is a Member of the Argentina National Academy of Sciences (1995) and an Honorary Fellow of the Argentina Palaeontological Society (1995), the Geological Society of America (2001), and the Argentina Geological Society (2002).

Scroll to Top