Anthony Angarola

Anthony Angarola

Fellow: Awarded 1928
Field of Study: Fine Arts

Competition: US & Canada

Kansas City Art Institute

As published in the Foundation’s Report for 1928:

(Profile photograph by Theatrical Studio)

 Angarola, Anthony: Appointed for creative work in painting, principally in France and Italy; tenure, twelve months from August 15, 1928.

 Born February 4, 1893, at Chicago, Illinois. Education: Art Institute of Chicago, 1908–17.

 Instructor of Painting at the John Layton School of Art, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 1921; Head of Department of Drawing and Painting at the Minneapolis School of Art, 1922–25; Instructor of Landscape Painting Class, Art Institute of Chicago, 1925–28, during the summer months; Head of Department of Drawing and Painting at the Kansas City Art Institute, 1927—.

 Principal Paintings: Awarded the Frederick Magnus prize in Color Composition, Art Institute of Chicago, 1916; awarded the William O. Goodman prize for a group of paintings, Art Institute of Chicago, 1917; “Confession” received Honorable Mention in the Annual Exhibition of American Paintings and Sculpture, Chicago Art Institute, 1921; awarded the Clyde M. Carr prize for “Backyard Paradise,” Chicago Art Institute, 1921; awarded the Business Mens’ Art Club prize for “Norwegian Village,” Chicago Art Institute, 1925; awarded Silver Medal for “Norwegian Village,” voted by the Chicago Artists’ Society at the Art Institute of Chicago, 1925; awarded third prize on “Swede Hollow,” Annual Twin Cities Exhibition, Minneapolis Art Museum, 1924; awarded second prize on “Slavish Dwelling” at the Chicago Galleries Association, 1926.

 Exhibited the following paintings in the Annual International Exhibition at Pittsburgh, Carnegie Institute: 1923—“Bench Lizards,” 1924—“The Home Coming,” 1925—“Enchanted Valley,” 1926—“Live,” 1927—“Squatter’s Lodgings.”

Exhibited in the Annual American Artists’ Exhibition of Paintings in Chicago, Philadelphia, Detroit, Cleveland, Buffalo, St. Louis, Washington, and several local exhibitions in Minneapolis, Chicago, and Kansas City.

Scroll to Top