Edward Hirsch

Edward Hirsch

Fellow: Awarded 1985
Field of Study: Poetry

Competition: US & Canada

Wayne State University

Edward Hirsch is a poet and critic.  He has published eight books of poems: For the Sleepwalkers (1981), Wild Gratitude (1986), which won the National Book Critics Circle Award, The Night Parade (1989), Earthly Measures (1994), On Love (1998), Lay Back the Darkness (2003), Special Orders (2008), and The Living Fire: New and Selected Poems (2010). He has also written four prose books: the bestseller How to Read a Poem and Fall in Love with Poetry (1999), Responsive Reading (1999), The Demon and the Angel: Searching for the Source of Artistic Inspiration (2002), and Poet’s Choice (2006). He is the editor of Transforming Vision: Writers on Art (1994) and ofTheodore Roethke’s Selected Poems (2005).  He is also the co-editor of A William Maxwell Portrait: Memories and Appreciations (2004) and The Making of a Sonnet: A Norton Anthology (2008), and he edits the series The Writer’s World (Trinity University Press).  He has received the Prix de Rome, the American Academy of Arts and Letters Award for Literature, and a MacArthur Fellowship.  He was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in poetry in 1985.  Since 2002, he has served as a trustee of the Foundation, and in 2003 he became the fourth President.

Scroll to Top