Maria Flook

Maria Flook

Fellow: Awarded 2007
Field of Study: Fiction

Competition: US & Canada

Emerson College

Maria Flook is Distinguished Writer-in Residence at Emerson College.  She is the author of the nonfiction books My Sister Life: The Story of My Sister’s Disappearance (Pantheon, 1998) and the New York Times bestseller Invisible Eden: A Story of Love and Murder on Cape Cod (Broadway Books, 2003).  Her fiction includes the novels  Lux (Little, Brown, 2004), Open Water (Pantheon, 1995), Family Night (Pantheon, 1993), which received a PEN American/Ernest Hemingway Foundation Special Citation, and a collection of stories entitled You Have the Wrong Man  (Pantheon, 1996).  She has also publiched two collections of poetry: Sea Room and Reckless Wedding, winner of the Houghton Mifflin New Poetry Series. 

Before joining the full-time faculty at Emerson College, she taught at the University of North Carolina at Asheville, Warren Wilson College, Rhode Island College, and the Graduate Writing Seminars at Bennington College.

Scroll to Top