Moshe Y. Vardi

Moshe Y. Vardi

Fellow: Awarded 2005
Field of Study: Computer Science

Competition: US & Canada

Rice University

Moshe Y. Vardi is the George Professor in Computational Engineering and Director of the Ken Kennedy Institute for Information Technology at Rice University. He chaired the Computer Science Department at Rice University from January 1994 till June 2002. Prior to joining Rice in 1993, he was at the IBM Almaden Research Center, where he managed the Mathematics and Related Computer Science Department. His research interests include database systems, computational-complexity theory, multi-agent systems, and design specification and verification. Mr. Vardi received his Ph.D. from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 1981. He is the author and co-author of over 350 articles, as well as two books, Reasoning about Knowledge and Finite Model Theory and Its Applications, and the editor of several collections. He is currently editor of several international journals as well as the Editor-in-Chief of the Communications of the ACM.

Mr. Vardi is the recipient of three IBM Outstanding Innovation Awards, a co-winner of the 2000 Goedel Prize, a co-winner of the 2005 ACM Kanellakis Award for Theory and Practice, a co-winner of the 2006 LICS Test-of-Time Award, a co-winner of the 2008 ACM PODS Mendelzon Test-of-Time Award, a winner of the 2008 ACM SIGMOD Codd Innovations Award, a recipient of the 2008 Blaise Pascal Medal for Computer Science by the European Academy of Sciences, as well as a 2008 ACM Presidential Award. He holds honorary doctorates from the University of Saarland, Germany, and the University of Orleans, France. He is a Fellow of the Association of Computing Machinery, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence, and the Institute for Electrical and Electronic Engineers. He was designated Highly Cited Researcher by the Institute for Scientific Information, and was elected as a member of the US National Academy of Engineering, the European Academy of Sciences, and the Academia Europea.

National Academy of Sciences , 2015
Scroll to Top