Fellows News

Fellows elected to NAS Council

Feb 15, 2019

On February 13, 2019, The National Academy of Sciences announced the election of new members to its seventeen person governing council, including Guggenheim Fellows Richard Lenski, the John Hannah Professor of Microbial Ecology, Michigan State University, Fellow 1991, Organismic Biology and Ecology; Sean C. Solomon, Director of the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University, Fellow 1982, Earth Science; and Ruth J. Williams, the Charles Lee Powell Chair in Mathematics, University of California, San Diego, Fellow 2008, Statistics.

They join four other fellows continuing as National Academy Councilors: Ingrid Daubechies, the James B. Duke Professor of Mathematics, Duke University, Fellow 2010, Applied Mathematics; Susan Fiske, the Eugene Higgins Professor, Psychology and Public Affairs, Princeton University, Fellow 2009, Psychology; Thomas Pollard, Sterling Professor of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, Yale University, Fellow 1984, Molecular and Cellular Biology; and Zena Werb, Professor of Anatomy, University of California, San Francisco, Fellow 1985, Molecular and Cellular Biology.