Eric S. Maskin

Trustee since 2016

Eric S. Maskin is Adams University Professor at Harvard. He received the 2007 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics (with L. Hurwicz and R. Myerson) for laying the foundations of mechanism design theory. He also has made contributions to game theory, contract theory, social choice theory, political economy, and other areas of economics.  He received his A.B. and Ph.D from Harvard and was a postdoctoral fellow at Jesus College, Cambridge University. He was a faculty member at MIT from 1977-1984, Harvard from 1985-2000, and the Institute for Advanced Study from 2000-2011.  He rejoined the Harvard faculty in 2012.   Maskin is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, and a fellow of the Econometric Society, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the British Academy, the European Economic Association, the Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory. He has served as editor of the Quarterly Journal of Economics, and of Economics Letters.  A Guggenheim Fellow in 1981, he joined the Foundation’s board in 2016.