Poets Laureate

Since establishment of the position in 1937, forty-five American poets have held the title of United States Poet Laureate (as it’s popularly known*). The Guggenheim Foundation is proud that thirty-five of those poets, including nine of the eleven women so honored, have been Guggenheim Fellows.

See full list ->

American Academy of Arts & Sciences

The American Academy of Arts & Sciences was established in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock, and other major figures of the time. View a complete list of Guggenheim Fellows elected to membership in the Academy in 2014.

See full list ->

Fields Medal Winners

Named after Professor J. C. Fields, a Canadian mathematician who funded the award, the Fields Medal is the highest honor in the world for mathematicians.

See full list ->

Nobel Prize Winners

First presented in 1901, the Nobel Prizes have long been recognized as the preeminent honor in each of the fields in which they are awarded. In the more than a century since the establishment of the prizes, many Guggenheim Fellows have burnished the roll of Nobel laureates.

See full list ->

National Book Awards

Established in 1950, the National Book Awards recognize the best American writers as chosen by panels of prominent writers. Its list of recipients reads like a Who’s Who of American literature, and of course many Guggenheim Fellows are among those so honored.

See full list ->

Media Credits

A number of images used throughout our website have been generously provided by the Foundation’s Fellows. We would like to acknowledge their contributions here.

See full list ->