Laura H. Greene

Laura H. Greene

Fellow: Awarded 2009
Field of Study: Physics

Competition: US & Canada

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Laura H. Greene, Swanlund and Center for Advanced Study Professor of Physics at the University of Illinois, received degrees from Ohio State and her Ph.D. from Cornell University. She then worked at Bell Laboratories and Bellcore before joining the Senior Faculty at the University of Illinois in 1992. She is an experimentalist in condensed matter physics who studies strongly correlated electron systems. Her research focuses on understanding the behavior of novel materials and unconventional superconductors by measuring their electronic structure with various probes. Much of her research investigates the role of broken symmetries and their physical manifestations in condensed matter systems.

She has served on numerous national and international Committees and Boards including Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee for the DoE and is the present Editor-in-Chief of the journal Reports on the Progress in Physics, based in England. She is also dedicated to broad areas of physics outreach and has continually been involved in a wide variety of committees and workshops for improving the status of women and minority physicists.

Ms. Greene is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, and is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Physical Society, and the Institute of Physics in the UK. She received the Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award from the American Physical Society and the E. O. Lawrence Award from the Department of Energy. She has co-authored nearly 200 publications and presented over 300 invited talks.


Follow this link to read about Laura Greene on the Year of Science website, 2009: Meet the Physicist.

View Laura Greene’s vodcast, made by Aziza Baccouche at AZIZA Productions, Inc., funded by the American Physical Society (APS).

Follow this link to view Laura Greene’s profile in 2001 when she was selected by Women in Technology International (WITI).

Photograph by Illinois Professor of Physics, Gordon Baym.

National Academy of Sciences , 2006
Scroll to Top