Fields Medal

Named after Professor J. C. Fields, a Canadian mathematician who funded the award, the Fields Medal is the highest honor in the world for mathematicians. These gold medals are presented every four years, at the International Congress of Mathematicians, to two (and beginning in 1966, four) mathematical researchers under forty years of age. Much like the standards the Guggenheim Foundation sets for its Fellows, the Fields medalists are of outstanding accomplishment and great future promise. 

Medal Year

Field of Study

Search by Name

Jesse Douglas
Jesse Douglas
Year: 1936
Heisuke Hironaka
Year: 1970
Paul J. Cohen
Year: 1966
Shing-Tung Yau
Year: 1982
Lars V. Ahlfors
Year: 1936
Gerd Faltings
Year: 1986
Scroll to Top