National Book Award

Established in 1950, the National Book Awards recognize the best American writers as chosen by panels of prominent writers. Although the number of competition categories has changed over the years (currently awards are given for the best works in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and young people’s literature), the significance of the prize has only increased.  It’s list of recipients include many of the country’s most impressive literary voices—and, of course, many Guggenheim Fellows are among those so honored.

Medal Year

Search by Name

Mary Szybist
Year: 2014
Terrance Hayes
Year: 2009
Charles Wright
Year: 1975
Richard Wilbur, Poetry, 1952, 1963 _250x250
Richard Wilbur
Year: 1952
Robert Penn Warren
Year: 1939
Mona Van Duyn, Poetry, 1972_250x250
Mona Van Duyn
Year: 1972
Scroll to Top